Skip to content

Vangile Titi-Msumza appointed Fruit SA chairperson

On 08 March 2021, the Fruit SA board elected Vangile Titi-Msumza as chairperson of the organisation, succeeding Justin Chadwick. Anton Kruger will assume the role of vice chairperson. Both appointments are effective from 1 April 2021.

The board is confident that these appointments will propel Fruit SA even further towards its market access and transformation objectives, as well as maintaining its focus on strengthening collaboration with government.

Titi-Msumza, who currently serves as vice chairperson of Fruit SA, has expressed appreciation for the board’s confidence in her, and looks forward to continuing her leadership role in this dynamic organisation at a time when the industry is in dire need of progressive, agile leadership to take the industry transformation agenda to new heights, and to increase its contribution to economic growth and job creation”. She has been serving on the Board since October 2017.

Anton Kruger2

Anton Kruger had this to say about his appointment: “Fruit SA has evolved and developed during the past couple of years to be recognised as the combined voice of the South African fruit industry. The industry is resilient and solution-driven and it remains a privilege to be part of it”.

The fruit industry is a significant contributor to SA’s GDP and, therefore, the food security of the country.

The Fruit SA board looks forward to supporting this leadership team in a united effort to grow the industry. The outgoing chairperson stated “Fruit South Africa has grown in stature and is now recognised as the peak fruit body in South Africa, Vangi is the right person to continue this journey and take the organisation to new heights”. The addition of Berries ZA in December 2020 has increased the Fruit SA membership to six.

Fruit South Africa is a non-profit entity and umbrella body representing Berries ZA, Citrus Growers’ Association of Southern Africa, Fresh Produce Exporters’ Forum, Hortgro, the South African Subtropical Growers’ Association and the South African Table Grape Industry.

Justin Chadwick, Chairperson: Fruit South Africa

For media queries, contact Fhumulani Ratshitanga at +27 12 007 1150 or

Back To Top